The IET announces the 8th edition of the IET India Scholarship Award to recognise future engineering leaders

Sharing is caring!

Bengaluru, 5th April 2024 – The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) has opened applications for the eighth edition of its prestigious IET India Scholarship Award, with a combined prize. Open to students of all AICTE\UGC-approved institutes, the IET India Scholarship Award program aims to reward and celebrate individual excellence and innovation among undergraduate engineering students in India.

Previous winners have gone on to join industry leaders like Google, Apple, Boeing, Deloitte, and MIT, and some have even become entrepreneurs themselves.

The Award evaluates participants across parameters that include academic performance, extracurricular activities, a range of outreach activities, and their ability to come up with creative engineering solutions to solve societal challenges. In the first round, students are shortlisted based on their academic performance as well as extracurricular activities. They then progress to an online test on STEM subjects and technical expertise. Students who clear the cut-off score are then invited to present their technological solution to a pertinent societal challenge in the regional rounds. Regional winners finally battle it out in the national finals to win the title.

Shekhar Sanyal, Director and Country Head, of IET India, said, “As technology continues to revolutionize our world, nurturing and recognizing the next generation of engineering leaders becomes ever more critical. The IET India Scholarship Award is our way of celebrating and supporting engineering talent. Last year’s applications boasted exceptional talent, and I am confident this year will be no different. I wish all the participants the best of luck, and eagerly anticipate seeing their innovative ideas come to life.”

The IET India Scholarship Award 2024 is guided by an esteemed Advisory Board consisting of prominent academicians and nationally recognized corporate leaders. The committee is chaired by Prof Abhijit Chakrabarti, Former Vice Chancellor, of Jadavpur University, Kolkata.

“I am delighted to announce the inauguration of the IET India Scholarship Award 2024. We are eager to engage with the most promising young minds in the Indian engineering community for the eighth edition. Our past winners have made significant strides, and we take immense pride in their accomplishments. I look forward to witnessing the innovative approaches that undergraduate engineering students will bring forth this year, further solidifying the legacy of excellence associated with the IET India Scholarship Award.” said Prof. Abhijit Chakrabarti, Chairman of, IET India Scholarship Award Advisory Committee.

Leave a Reply