Manipal Centre of Biotherapeutics Research Inaugurated a 3D Bioprinting Facility

Sharing is caring!

Bengaluru, 15th March 2023: Manipal Centre for Biotherapeutics Research (MCBR), Mangalore, a constituent unit of Manipal Academy of Higher Education (MAHE), inaugurated the 3D Bioprinting and Tissue Culture Facility which was unveiled by Lt. Gen. (Dr) M. D. Venkatesh, Vice Chancellor, MAHE, Dr. Sharath K. Rao, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Health Sciences), MAHE, Mrs. Nirali Vora, CSR Head of Genesis Packaging, along with Mr Kaushal Vora, Director, Genesis Packaging. Dual nozzle 3D bioprinter (Anga Pro, Alfatek Systems) was procured from the CSR funds contributed by Genesis Packaging Pvt. Ltd., Udupi.

While inaugurating the facility Lt. General ( Dr) M.D. Venkatesh, Vice-Chancellor, MAHE said “3D Bioprinting is the promising area of research where significant progress is being made in printing human tissues and organs. I am glad to inaugurate the 3D Bioprinting and Tissue Culture facility at MCBR and I look forward to seeing pathbreaking research to emerge from this facility ultimately benefitting healthcare at large”.

Mrs. Nirali Vora, CSR Head of Genesis Packaging said “I am honoured and humbled to be felicitated by MAHE leadership. MCBR is a world-class research facility, and we are extremely happy to contribute CSR funding to procure the 3D Bioprinter. We wish MCBR and MAHE researchers all the best in their research using the Bioprinter”. MAHE and Alfatek signed an agreement to collaborate on skill development and innovative research in the area of 3D Bioprinting.”

Mr Sumant Bhutoria, CEO of Alfatek Systems Pvt. Ltd., Kolkata, “spoke about the progress on 3D Bioprinting in India and the promises it holds.”

The event was presided by Dr Raviraja N S, Professor and Coordinator of MCBR welcomed the gathering and shared the vision of MCBR. Dr Kirthanashri SV, Associate Professor, and Team Leader 3D Bioprinting, MCBR, presented the research highlights in the area of 3D bioprinting at MCBR. Air Vice Marshal Dr DC Agarwal, Dr B S Satish Rao, Dr Sathish B Pai, Dr Sajan D George, and others were present. Ms Prachi Agarwal anchored the program and Ms. Vidhi Mathur proposed the vote of thanks.

Leave a Reply